READERS’ COMMENTS ABOUT Vi Zetterwall’s books

Vi’s rabid readers love to have their say. Below are Amazon review comments about Vi’s writing style and storytelling. Want yours here too? Drop Vi a note on the comments page and let her know you just left a review. We’ll add the best to our list. Thank you!

T. Coker

5.0 out of 5 stars A Lighthearted Romance that Made Me Smile
January 16, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition | Verified Purchase
“January and the Single Heart” is the kind of lighthearted and fun romance novel that makes you forget about stress of the worries of life; it just sweeps you away and takes you on a fun little adventure about one woman’s search for Mr. Right and the long awaited kiss she’s been dreaming of. Vi Zetterwall has a way of writing that really sucks you in with strong dialogue, memorable characters that make you care about them and a plot that never fails to keep you eagerly flipping to the next page until the novel has come to an end. Jan is a beautifully endearing and real woman who keeps this romance novel down-to-Earth and authentic; she’s wonderfully flawed but lovable, sending you off on an eager journey right alongside her as she grows as a person and grows as a woman looking for someone special to love. Overall, I had a wonderful time reading this and would recommend it to other readers looking for an entertaining and engaging romance to sink their teeth into.

JadeVixen

5.0 out of 5 stars A great story
February 12, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition |Verified Purchase
February and the Single Heart is a great story that follows the troubles of Mary Jo. There are so many levels to this story, and it is so well written and intriguing that you’ll be pulled into Mary’s world. Once you’re pulled in, you’ll find yourself desperate to find out if things will work out for her. It begins in a disgusting prison, and goes back to a time in her teen years when she was kidnapped and rescued by a young man. Years later, Mary must rely on this young man once again, but this time she fears if she can truly put her faith in him, or if she will be forced to spend the rest of her life in prison. An incredible read from beginning to end. I look forward to more books from this author. Their writing style was engaging and the imagery makes you feel as if you’re following Mary Jo on her journey to freedom at two different times in her life. At first you aren’t sure if Mary Jo is even innocent, but soon you’ll be in intense suspense to find out what will happen to her.

.0 out of 5 stars A highly engaging read by an incredible author!
By Ricky M. Hansen Jr.on March 22, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition |Verified Purchase
I picked up this series at this book, March and the Single Heart, but now I want to go back and read the others. This is an excellent novella. Right from the opening scene I felt emotionally pulled into the story. This paragraph set the tone for entire book:

“A day with a bold beginning and a woeful end. A day of sporting exhilaration and an ignominious defeat. It was the day she fell in love for the first time and it was the day her father beat her until she lay bloody and bruised on the living room floor.”

Wow, my heart broke for Marci and her struggles. She was injured during this encounter with her father and never got proper treatment – leaving her with a terrible limp. She is portrayed as a strong and persevering character with a strong will. Zetterwall did an amazing job of writing the other character – Kyle – into the story. The emotional connection that the reader has to these characters carries through the story through the tone and compassionate feel to this story. I was pleasantly surprised as the plot unfolded. I was kept on the edge-of-my-seat wondering what was going to happen next. I did not see the twist happening.

Overall, I give this book 5-stars! I am going to go back and read every other book in the series as well. This writing is amazing, the book is well-organized, and I feel like I made a few new friends.

Highly recommended!

Monica LaSarre, Author

5.0 out of 5 stars Contemporary and Endearing
May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase
I loved May and the Single Heart! The author, Vi Zetterwall, has created a contemporary romance with some really lovable characters with complicated issues. My favorite aspect of this book is the author’s exquisite descriptions of the electric energy between Rachel and her love interest (no spoilers here!). You can literally feel the crackling between the main characters; their attraction to each other is so real and so strong, it transcends the limitations of the page and fills the room. The author did a very nice job of creating a romance that is so hot, so steamy, and so descriptive; it is a stellar recounting of a love that surpasses everything that has become mundane about today’s works of romantic fiction.

I simply refuse to ruin the ending of this novella for you. It will have to suffice to say that the ending is so packed full of surprise that this book will haunt you long after you’ve finished the last page. You’ll be left re-hashing the plot in your mind, wondering at all you ever thought to be true about love and happy endings.

Well done, Vi Zetterwall! This book is much-deserving of the 5 stars I’m giving it! Let us hear from your pen again soon.

Jamie

5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic, heart-tugging romance
July 6, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition |Verified Purchase
July and the Single Heart was PITCH PERFECT. I’m so glad this gem of a novel came to my attention! I have to say that this is one of my favorite romances that I’ve read in a long while. From the concept, to characters, to writing, to plot/pace, everything was expertly crafted. July (the heroine of the story) as a character was so heartfelt and naive and innocent that my emotions just melted with her as she endured through her judgmental family and the awkward/embarrassing duty of picking a husband in a strange, real-life-version of the bachelorette show.

What struck me as so unique about this story, and separated it from so many other cookie-cutter romances was July. As a protagonist she was something different. “Amerasian” as she describes herself, a half-Japanese protag was refreshing. Also her mannerisms and hermit-like existence prior to her husband-pageant was something that was refreshing and unique to see. It was fun seeing her jump out of her comfort zone and meet each (hot!) suitor and experience the ups and downs and twists and turns of her finding the one man who will marry her for her, and not just for her money.

Her family were also very well realized, with sisters that ranged from the snotty and bratty to the compassionate and helpful. They, along with July’s parents spanned the spectrum of familial dysfunction, and encapsulated, I think, what a lot of families under pressure go through.

As July stumbled through her crazy circumstances, I smiled when she did, my heart broke when hers broke, and my emotions rose when hers rose. That’s what a great story is supposed to do, and this one did it in spades. Five stars.

Reader from Europe

5.0 out of 5 stars From the very first page onto the last I was sucked into this well-written story full of intrigue and romance
August 29, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition |Verified Purchase
I do not often read fiction, but every now and then in the summer holidays I treat myself. Well, August and the Single Heart was a treat indeed! From the very first page onto the last I was sucked into this well-written story full of intrigue and romance. Highly recommended!

HouseOfSchnauzer

5.0 out of 5 stars Z’s books have been excellent romance novellas
September 22, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
September and the Single Heart is ninth in the series of The Single Heart, from a brand new author, trying to write a book a month for the year, 2014. While most of Ms. Z’s books have been excellent romance novellas, this one breaks the mold and is more of a mystery. I was first taken with this author because while a romance writer, she limited the sex scenes and had more of a grown up fairy tale to read.

This book was a great light read for a mystery storyline that could have gotten very dark and bloody. There were the sets of main characters that were well developed, but the secondary characters had their own strong developments in the plot, too. With most romance writers, I can skim along, put the book down for a week or two, and pick up where I left off. In this book it did not work as there were so many one liners I missed out on, having to go back and reread the details just to see what was happening to the leading male character. He plans things with more detail than I do, plus he has five back up plans ready to go, just in case! True to tradition, the girl gets her man, but in this case, which man will it be?

A wealthy man’s daughter is kidnapped, while having dinner. From there, you go on twists and turns, tears and laughter, trying to figure out what will happen. Then, there is who you want to cheer for, and who actually did it. I had planned to read just half an hour before bed, but wound up staying up to 4am trying to finish it with toothpicks holding my eyes open. It wasn’t til the last eighth of the book or so that the real fun details came out, leaving me to wonder as to if I was rooting for the wrong person. I’m not sure why I’m addicted to this author’s works so much, except they’re that good! I’ve got all but two of the nine books united together by the coin of luck, and I’m hoping my local library will follow this author, too.

As a bonus, Vi answers all her fan mail, and will clarify or discuss items with her readers. I’m hoping she’ll do another series for 2015, but she probably wants her life back. Her writing tells of real life situations most of the time, with bouts of humor stuck in when it starts getting too serious. For me, that’s the perfect book- one I’d probably get caught reading under the covers on a school night kind of book.

raven w

5.0 out of 5 stars Nice story
October 27, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I liked the storyline for October and the Single Heart. Sarah, a young widow struggling with her grief and trying to raise two young children on a teacher’s salary, encounters this mysterious man in her neighborhood who is cleaning out what appears to be an abandoned lot. There is some friction between her and this man that her children mistakenly call Mr. October. Because this man (Matthew) isn’t forthcoming with his motive for what his intentions are for this lot, then the community becomes involved. All in all it is a story of triumph over grief tough circumstances, moving forward with your life, realizing that’s it’s okay to ask for help and that true love knows no color or boundaries.

TFLReader Top Contributor: Cooking

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully romantic story in this series
November 20, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition| Verified Purchase
I just discovered Vi Zetterwall’s Single Heart series and am enthralled with the very novel idea of the connection that these monthly novellas have. There isn’t a continuation of characters so much, but of a Coin of Luck in Life and Love that is passed on to a new character from the prior novella.

November and the Single Heart is about a 7-year veteran police officer in Seattle named Alicia November, or “”Novy””. Novy has Coos indian roots and is privately dealing with a curse tied to an upcoming blood moon. She also has a new partnership with a rookie police transplant from Montana, Brent Saverine. While not liking the fact that a new partner was pushed on her, Novy struggles to form a trust with Brent in the serious business that they are in. Novy also has romantic entanglements that have her conflicted and confused as Brent is looking for a true love that he witnessed his sister capture not long ago with the aid of “”a coin””. Slowly the two come to realize that their relationship has grown into much more than just professional.

I can’t express how much I loved this book and Zetterwall’s writing. It’s not often that an indie author is able to capture my attention, and heart, as this one did and I am definitely now a fan. The cast of characters in this one, including Novy’s close friend, are well-written and descriptive. The dialogue is engaging and the suspense built up between the characters makes the story. A definite winner here.

A. Brantley

5.0 out of 5 stars So Good It Gave Me Goosebumps!
July 20, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition| Verified Purchase
December and the Single Heart was hands down the best book in the series. It actually made me want to go back and read the others again. I loved April’s character, but December is the one that really stole the show for me. I think the author did an amazing job at showing his character go through an unthinkable change. What really made the book though was seeing everything come full circle. It was nice to go back and see the previous characters and how their lives had been effected by the coin. The book brought tears to my eyes several times and was so good it gave me goosebumps. If you’re looking for a series that feels realistic and features characters that struggle to reach their happily ever after – this is the series for you.

Tarah

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!
March 4, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Markers is such an excellent novel! I thoroughly enjoyed this read! There is a large political aspect to the novel, and that really interested me. The book is so well written! I love each of the characters! I just love Teresa and Ross and the journey to fulfill their plans. The book is written by dates, so it’s easy to keep track of what’s going on. I definitely recommend this book to anyone!

JohnM76

5.0 out of 5 stars “There’s always hope. Sometimes you just don’t know where to look.”
May 12, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition |Verified Purchase
That quote near the end of The Maid of Salerno sums up the theme of the book to me. I wasn’t sure what I was getting into when I started reading this book by VI Zetterwall but the first paragraph piqued my interest and kept me turning the pages. This is advertised as a dystopian novel but it’s not like any I’ve ever read before. This is more about a journey of the heart of Cassie Serrell, a young woman growing up in a landscape of horror, learning her life lessons and becoming a stronger person than she thought she could be.

The dialogue is captivating and believable. As I read, I could sense the build-up that the protagonist is going through. The ending had my heart pounding and multiple scenes had me reaching for the Kleenex (Yeah, I’ve always been a crier when a story touches me). This was the first book in a short series and sometimes I think it got a little slow for my taste but when I finished it, I was smiling and crying and I’m ready for the next one.

HouseOfSchnauzer

5.0 out of 5 stars Ten Thumbs Up (It is that good)!
February 24, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
Trials of the Maid is the second in the series, and in exchange for my honest review, I received a complimentary copy.

To begin with, this book is the story of a young woman, set in the future, in a land where the US no longer exists. Through the story, you follow Cassie, and see how she deals with a corrupt government officicial, then there is a smattering of romance, real world theology, and so much more thrown in. The opening scene is set with a wagon for transportation, and moves on from there, as it is unlike anything we know, or have known. It’s thought provoking in a good way, but a bit realistic, too.

This is the fourteenth book I’ve read by the author, and each one is different and unique. It helps to have read the first book in this series, first, of course, but, it is not totally necessary. The author is talented, and, I’m trying not to give the plot away, as I’m terrible at book reviews, but, I do recommend this series, or, The Single Heart series for lighter reading.

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars One thing I enjoy about these novels is how Vi brings past “lessons”
June 1, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I read the first two books and was not going to miss the third. Before I started reading Journey of the Maid, I re-read the last few chapters of Trials of the Maid and I remember wondering how one Journey could fill up a book but the storyline bounced back and forth between Mila and Cassie and kept my interest all the way through.

One thing I enjoy about these novels is how Vi brings past “lessons” Cassie has learned to the battle at hand without being overt about it. She is very skillful this way, letting the reader slowly come to see the point of a past trial, tribulation or test. And, my gosh, the storyline about Mila surprised me – really fleshing out her character and by the end of the book I wasn’t sure who I was rooting for.

I’ll be watching to see when Ms. Zetterwall’s last book in the series is out. “The End of the Maid” – sounds a bit ominous.

Sara Wood

5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Page Turner!
April 23, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The Journey of the Maid, and the previous two books in the series, are not like any other books I have read! The protagonist, Cassie, is on a quest to prove that she is the one to save the U. S. in the dystopian future. I had to binge-read all three novels because I couldn’t stop thinking about Cassie and all the hurdles she has to overcome. I can’t wait for the 4th book in the series to be published!

Lisz Broszé

5.0 out of 5 stars So inspiring I reread it and bought copies for my friends.
March 18, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition| Verified Purchase
I just finished The End of the Maid and this whole series is a must read. Even though we aren’t living in times as harsh as described in this book, we aren’t as far off as we think. The leadership qualities that Cassie espouses are virtues everyone could benefit from. The human mind thinks in narratives; and this series really shows good character as an example, vs a lecture.

I found some copies at a used books store and bought them for friends. If I had time, I’d reread the whole series. I want more from this author! Great for teens

The next review? Maybe yours…

A big thank you to all my loyal readers. Love ya all! Vi